Spinning.

Been in a major reading funk lately, and by lately I mean most of the year.

Highlights:

– After reading Salvation on Sand Mountain: Snake-Handling and Redemption in Southern Appalachia I had two venomous snakes come to visit right by my door within a short space of time. First a nice-sized copperhead under my front step, and then a big old angry rattlesnake under a tree nearby who rattled and fussed and kept me stressed out for a couple of hours before slithering his long, gorgeous self off. I did not attempt to take them up, but if a third shows up, I may start to feel the weight of some unknown omen.

– Managed to read The Tunnel by William H. Gass, which took an eternity and actually rather felt like digging a tunnel, appropriately enough.

– Made the conscious decision to get into manga, because I wanted more fluff in my life and I have long envied what appeared to be the unadulterated enjoyment had by those who read the stuff. I am a fully grown lady who eats sweets with calculated, stern-faced pleasure, and I take the same determined attitude to reading comics.

 

Now, on to fresh business. I am participating in the Classics Spin over at The Classics Club, in which I pick twenty books I have yet to read from my list of classics, and I read the corresponding number that is randomly selected by October 6. I chose ten shorter books (under 450 pages) and ten longer books (over 450 pages), with a few I am eager to read and a few I am slightly less enthused about, to give them a fair chance. So I may find myself with a relaxed single-afternoon read, or a thicker slice of cake that’ll take a while to nibble through. I am excited either way. The list:

 

  1. The Life and Death of Harriett Frean – May Sinclair (112 p.)
  2. The House Without Windows – Barbara Newhall Follett (134 p.)
  3. Notes from Underground – Fyodor Dostoyevsky (136 p.)
  4. The Gowk Storm – Nancy Brysson Morrison (177 p.)
  5. I Await the Devil’s Coming – Mary MacLane (200 p.)
  6. Agnes Grey – Anne Brontë (211 p.)
  7. Elizabeth and Her German Garden – Elizabeth von Arnim (225 p.)
  8. To the Lighthouse – Virginia Woolf (310 p.)
  9. At Swim-Two-Birds – Flann O’Brien (315 p.)
  10. Emma – Jane Austen (391 p.)
  11. Cat’s Eye – Margaret Atwood (477 p.)
  12. Great Expectations – Charles Dickens (495 p.)
  13. How Green Was My Valley – Richard Llewellyn (495 p.)
  14. The Worm Ouroboros – E.R. Eddison (544 p.)
  15. North and South – Elizabeth Gaskell (546 p.)
  16. The Fairy-Faith in Celtic Countries – W.Y. Evans-Wentz (560 p.)
  17. Ada, Or Ardor – Vladimir Nabokov (626 p.)
  18. Wolf Solent – John Cowper Powys (640 p.)
  19. Lorna Doone – R.D. Blackmore (646 p.)
  20. Sons and Lovers – D.H. Lawrence (675 p.)

5 thoughts on “Spinning.

  1. I especially enjoyed both Notes from Underground and Cat’s Eye. But the book on your list that gets me most excited is I Await the Devil’s Coming. I want to read this one SO very badly! If it should spin up for you, I’ll be very keen to know your thoughts when you finish.

    Good luck!

  2. Oh, you’ve got one of your chunksters!
    I confess that I have never heard of Ada or Ardor, so I will look forward to your review 🙂

  3. Ada, or Ardor! You certainly got a hefty one this spin. Nabokov’s fantastical/alternate history/speculative fiction work…I can’t wait to find out what you think about it.

    Long before Margaret Atwood – whom I love…don’t get me wrong here – insisted she doesn’t write science fiction as she was publishing a wonderful speculative trilogy, Nabokov was insisting he hated science fiction…while finishing up a huge speculative epic. Gotta love authors and their quirks!

    Here’s an interesting article on Ada, or Ardor from my bookmarks: http://www.conceptualfiction.com/ada.html

Leave a comment